TAB Southwest Broadcast Newsroom Workshop

The Lone Star Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences releasd the list of this year’s Texas Emmy nominees!

As you and those in your newsroom make plans to attend the Saturday, October 15, 2016  Lone Star EMMY Awards Show in Fort Worth.

The Lone Star Emmy Chapter is partnering with the Texas Association of Broadcasters’ [TAB] Southwest Broadcast Newsroom Workshop! The workshop takes place during the day – SESSIONS will be held at the Norris Conference Center (304 Houston St., Fort Worth, Texas 76102.)

TAB has lined up nationally recognized newsroom presenters for the day-long newsroom workshop:

  • Al Tompkins of the Poynter Institute, St. Petersburg, FL
  • Deborah Potter, NewsLab, Washington, DC
  • Brian Collister, KXAN-TV; Heather Coghlan, Jackson Walker LLP

The TAB will offer special sessions featuring standout professionals from Texas TV newsrooms as well as Texas media law experts. In all, there are more than 20 sessions being presented at the workshop.

Topics include:

  • critical thinking skills
  • reporting on stories in which race is a key component
  • use of social media in journalism
  • broadcast newswriting for reporters
  • newscast producing
  • compelling storytelling
  • effective interviewing techniques
  • tips for telling non-visual stories
  • enterprise reporting: finding the stories and information others miss
  • Texas’ newsgathering-related laws
  • six steps to stronger stories
  • ethical decision making in a social media world
  • investigative journalism
  • developing and maintaining sources
  • verifying the facts in political advertising or campaign claims
  • essentials of captivating video journalism and much more!

Go to TAB Southwest Broadcast Newsroom Workshop to register for the largest Texas broadcast newsroom workshop of the year!

Registration Fees
  • TAB Member – Professional Registrant: $70 ($95 after 9/30/2016)
  • Non-Member – Professional Registrant: $135 ($160 after 9/30/2016)
  • Student Registrant: $30 ($55 after 9/30/2016)

Sponsors of this year’s workshop include the Lone Star Chapter, National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences and the Texas Associated Press Broadcasters.