2015 Lone Star Excellence in My Market Awards

The Lone Star Emmy Chapter is proud the offer the Excellence in My Market Awards (EMMA) recognizing television excellence produced in those markets ranging in size from Harlingen/Weslaco/Brownsville/McAllen (#87) to Victoria, Texas (#204).

Without the extensive resources found in Dallas, Houston, San Antonio or Austin, television professionals in these markets find a way to create television excellence every day. Entries in the 2015 Lone Star EMMA will be held to the same Standard of Excellence exemplified by the National Television Academy’s Emmy Awards, yet will be judged ONLY by qualified peer-judges from similar-sized television markets in other NATAS chapters.


Eligibility Dates
January 1, 2014 – December 31, 2014

Deadline for Call For Entries
March 2 , 2015

Deadline for Video Upload
March 4, 2015

June 1, 2015

EMMA Guidelines

  • You may enter the same material in both the EMMAs and the traditional Emmy® categories as long as the entry material meets all the appropriate rules in each Chapter’s Call for Entries.
  • EMMA award-winning entries which originally aired during the proper EMMA awards cycle can automatically advance to the Emmy® awards process, at no additional cost.
  • Membership in NATAS is not required to enter.
  • There is no limit on the number of individuals who may be listed on an entry, but each must pay a separate and appropriate entry fee. All entrants must be directly responsible for the entry’s production. EMMA crystal pillars are awarded to individuals, not to their employers, stations or companies.
  • You may NOT enter a single, stand-alone piece of work in more than one program category. You may however enter the same material in separate craft disciplines if you also performed the different job functions.
  • Material included as part of a composite entry in the Station Excellence, category may be entered in other categories.
  • A composite is defined as a sampling of two or more representative segments or elements that convey to a judging panel the scope, breadth, or range of an individual’s talents or of coverage of a special event. The elements within a composite, unless otherwise noted, are to be “as aired” with no internal edits or post production work, such as music or special effects. Demo reels or montages are not allowed. One to two seconds of black between cuts, with no audio or slates, must be added to separate segments within the composite. Unless otherwise noted, a straight lift from a long work may be included as an element of a composite, but there must be no editing of the lift. For program entries, composite may only contain content from one episode of the series, not multiple installments.
  • A maximum of three segments/lifts is permitted to bring longer full-length programs to the time limit.
  • We encourage the use of the synopsis to help judges navigate the entry.